Pohamba reshuffles Cabinet, dismisses Kazenambo


Namibian President Hifikepunye Pohamba has reshuffled and redeployed his cabinet ministers and governors, just days after the ruling party Swapo held its fifth congress.

New SWAPO Cabinet Ministers taking oath with President Hifikepunye  Pohamba at State House on December 4, 2012.

Pohamba reshuffled the ministers and three governors on December 4, when he re-appointed Swapo Vice President Dr Hage Geingob to the position of Prime Minister. Hage is holding this Prime Minister position for the second time.

The posting of Geingob is seen as a move to groom him as the next Namibian President when he gets elected in 2015, if Swapo wins.

“I am determined to ensure that the SWAPO PARTY Congress Resolutions are speedily adopted by Cabinet as Government programmes which require a speedy implementation.

It is against this background, the outcome of the Congress has necessitated the redeployment of some of the political personnel as well as to bring new ones,” Pohamba said.

The reshuffle also saw Nahas Angula demoted from the Prime Minister post to that of the Minister of Defence. Angula will be deputized by Hon Petrus Iilonga.

Pohamba’s reshuffle did not include Minister of Youth National Service, Sports and Culture Kazenambo Kazenambo. He was replaced by Jerry Ekandjo who will be deputized by Juliet Kavetuna.

Angula takes over from Hon Maj-Gen (rdt) Charles Namoloh as who is the new Minister of Regional and Local Government, Housing and Rural Development.

Hon Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana takes over as the new Minister of Home Affairs as she is succeeding Hon Rosalia Nghidinwa who is now Minister of Gender Equality and Child Welfare.

Minister of Environment and Tourism Hon Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah was appointed as new Minister of Foreign Affairs as she took over from Hon Utoni Nujoma who is now Minister of Justice.

Hon Immanuel Ngatjizeko is the new Minister of Safety and Security and he succeeds Nangolo Mbumba, who will serve as secretary general for SWAPO PARTY on full-time basis.

Hon Doreen Sioka was deployed as the new Minister of Labour and Social Welfare.

Hon Uahekua Herunga was promoted into the new position as Minister of Environment and Tourism and his deputy is Hon Pohamba Shifeta, while Hon Calle Schlettwein is now the Minister of Trade and Industry.

Dr. Hage Geingob sworn in as Prime Minister.

Hon Lempy Lucas is now the new Deputy Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry.

Hon Kilus Nguvauva was deployed as the Deputy Minister of Works and Transport while Hon Chief Samuel Ankama as Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources.

President Pohamba said one of the  outcomes of the congress resulted in an election of  Laura McLeod Katjirua, Governor of the Omaheke Region, as Deputy Secretary-General of Swapo.

McLeod Katjirua is now the Governor of Khomas region, she is replaced by Kahemozu Rapama who is now heading the Omaheke Region.

Samuel Nuyoma is now the Governor of Otjozondjupa region.

“It is clear that the Honorable Governor (McLeod) cannot be expected to attend to her party responsibilities here in Windhoek, while at the same time holding a full-time position in the Omaheke Region.” Pohamba said.

Pohamba further appealed to the Namibian nation to continue maintaining national unity, peace and stability in the country.

“We must continue to reject the vices of tribalism, nepotism, regionalism, racism, sexism and corruption. Our SWAPO Party Government will continue to address the socio-economic plight of all our citizens such as the youth, women, and workers, veterans of our liberation struggle, senior citizens, the rural poor and our fellow citizens who live in informal settlements.” He said.








International Breaking News

Email Subscription

Stay up to date on the latest articles via email:


RSS Feed


Should Govt pay grants to the unemployed ?

View Results

Loading ... Loading …

News Categories

News Archive


Don’t miss an article! Sign up for our email newsletter: